Other Title

Lippitt Prize Essay

Document Type


Date of Original Version



An essay exploring the men who maintained the liberties of Rhode Island during the Revolution by forming the Committee of Correspondence in 1773. The appointments included Stephen Hopkins, Metcalfe Bowler, Moses Brown, John Cole, William Bradford, Henry Marchant and Henry Ward to form the committee in its entirety.