University of Rhode Island DigitalCommons@URI

Faculty Senate Bills

Faculty Senate

3-22-2018

Referendum on Changes to the Constitution of the Faculty Senate, Article ID. 1. of the Constitution of the Faculty Senate (Student Senate designee)

University of Rhode Island Faculty Senate

Follow this and additional works at: https://digitalcommons.uri.edu/facsen_bills

Recommended Citation

University of Rhode Island Faculty Senate, "Referendum on Changes to the Constitution of the Faculty Senate, Article ID. 1. of the Constitution of the Faculty Senate (Student Senate designee)" (2018). *Faculty Senate Bills.* Paper 2287.

https://digitalcommons.uri.edu/facsen_bills/2287

This Legislation is brought to you by the University of Rhode Island. It has been accepted for inclusion in Faculty Senate Bills by an authorized administrator of DigitalCommons@URI. For more information, please contact digitalcommons-group@uri.edu. For permission to reuse copyrighted content, contact the author directly.

•.		
	THE UNIVERSITY THINK OF RHODE ISLAND FACULTY SENATE OFFICE Green Hall, 35 Campus Avenue, Kingston, RI 02881 USA p: 401.874.2616	BIG WE DO-
en en esta		· · ·
•	Serial Number #17-18-34	
· · · ·	Memory President David Dooley DM: Mark Conley, Chairperson of the Faculty Senate	
	The attached BILL titled, Referendum on Changes to the Constitution of the Faculty Senate, Article III. 1. of the Constitution of the Faculty Senate (Student Senate lesignee), is forwarded for your consideration.	
	2. This BILL was adopted by vote of the Faculty Senate on March 22, 2018.	
	After considering this bill, will you please indicate your approval or disapproval. Return the original, completing the appropriate endorsement below.	
	In accordance with Section 10, paragraph 4 of the Senate's By-Laws, this bill will become effective April 12, 2018 three weeks after Senate approval, unless: (1) specific dates for implementation are written into the bill; (2) you return it disapproved; or (3) the University Faculty petitions for a referendum.	
	Mark Conley Chairperson of the Faculty Senate March 22, 2018	
	ENDORSEMENT	
	TO: Chairperson of the Faculty Senate	
	FROM: President of the University	
	Approved Approved subject to Notice of the Council on Postsecondary Education Disapproved	
/	Signature of the President (date)	





Referendum on Changes to the Constitution of the Faculty Senate as authorized at the February 22, 2018 Faculty Senate Meeting

On February 22, 2018, the Faculty Senate approved a motion on behalf of the URI Student Senate requesting an amendment to the Senate membership clause of the Constitution of the Faculty Senate to allow any member of the Student Senate so designated, not specifically the Vice President, to attend Faculty Senate meetings and participate accordingly in the absence of the President of the Student Senate.

Approval of this motion required a 2/3rds majority vote in the affirmative of all votes cast by the General Faculty. A referendum of the General Faculty was conducted from March 1 - 19, 2018.

Approve142Do Not Approve7Abstain2

TOTAL 151 votes

Of 151 votes cast, 94% were in favor of the motion. The motion passed.

Constitution of the Faculty Senate Article III – Membership

1. The Senate shall consist of designated ex officio members and of elected members of the full-time tenure-track faculty, chosen in the approximate ratio of one senator for each 10 fulltime tenure-track faculty members. Any member of the tenure-track faculty with the rank of professor, associate professor, assistant professor, or instructor may be elected a member of the Senate. The Senate will provide means by which all eligible faculty members not in a college or the library have the opportunity to vote and to be candidates for election. The President, the Provost and Vice President for Academic Affairs, the Vice Provosts, the Vice Presidents, the deans of the colleges and schools, the Dean of Admissions, the person who served as Senate chair during the previous academic year, the President or, in his/her absence, the Vice President a designee member of the Student Senate, and the President or, in his/her absence, the Vice President of the Graduate Student Association shall be members of the Senate ex officio without the right to vote, but with the right to make and second motions. Other officers of administration, including personnel deans and the directors and assistant directors of the University administrative divisions, shall not be eligible for election to the Senate. #01-02-8; #01-02-12 (Approved by referendum, May 2002) #03-04-10; #06-07-1 (Approved by referendum, April 2007) (Approved by referendum March 2015) (Approved by referendum March 2016)

Changes incorporated

Constitution of the Faculty Senate Article III – Membership

1. The Senate shall consist of designated ex officio members and of elected members of the full-time tenure-track faculty, chosen in the approximate ratio of one senator for each 10 fulltime tenure-track faculty members. Any member of the tenure-track faculty with the rank of professor, associate professor, assistant professor, or instructor may be elected a member of the Senate. The Senate will provide means by which all eligible faculty members not in a college or the library have the opportunity to vote and to be candidates for election. The President, the Provost and Vice President for Academic Affairs, the Vice Provosts, the Vice Presidents, the deans of the colleges and schools, the Dean of Admissions, the person who served as Senate chair during the previous academic year, the President or, in his/her absence, a designee member of the Student Senate, and the President or, in his/her absence, the Vice President of the Graduate Student Association shall be members of the Senate ex officio without the right to vote, but with the right to make and second motions. Other officers of administration, including personnel deans and the directors and assistant directors of the University administrative divisions, shall not be eligible for election to the Senate. #01-02–8; #01-02–12 (Approved by referendum, May 2002) #03-04–10; #06-07–1 (Approved by referendum, April 2007) (Approved by referendum March 2015) (Approved by referendum March 2016)