University of Rhode Island

DigitalCommons@URI

Museum Services Board (1991)

Education: National Endowment for the Arts and Humanities, Subject Files I (1973-1996)

5-1990

Museum Services Board (1991): Report 01

Follow this and additional works at: https://digitalcommons.uri.edu/pell_neh_I_59

Recommended Citation

"Museum Services Board (1991): Report 01" (1990). *Museum Services Board (1991)*. Paper 45. https://digitalcommons.uri.edu/pell_neh_l_59/45

This Report is brought to you by the University of Rhode Island. It has been accepted for inclusion in Museum Services Board (1991) by an authorized administrator of DigitalCommons@URI. For more information, please contact digitalcommons-group@uri.edu. For permission to reuse copyrighted content, contact the author directly.

total:15 Quorum: 8

MEMBERS OF THE NATIONAL MUSEUM SERVICES BOARD (NMSB)

May 1990

The Honorable Willard L. Boyd of Illinois is the current Chairman of the NMSB, and is President of Chicago's Field Museum of Natural History. Dr. Boyd is a past chairman of the American Association of Universities and the Center for Research Libraries, and currently serves on the Board of Directors of the Illinois Arts Council, American Council for the Arts, Elderhostel, and the Advisory Committee for the Getty Center for Education in the Arts.

NMSB MEMBERS:

The Honorable Alice Wright Algood of Tennessee is a former Chairman of the Tennessee State Museum Association (now TSM Foundation) and past President of the Association for the Preservation of Tennessee Antiquities. Mrs. Algood is also a member of the Tennessee Historical Commission, chairing the Historic Sites Committee of the Commission.

The Honorable Arthur Beale of Massachusetts is currently the Director of Research at the Museum of Fine Arts in Boston, and a former Director of Conservation at the Center for Conservation and Technology Studies, Harvard University Art Museums. Mr. Beale is a past Chairman of the Board and Council of the National Institute for Conservation, and is currently a Council Member Elect at the International Institute for Conservation.

The Honorable Diana D. Denman of Texas is a founding member of the McNay Museum in San Antonio. Mrs. Denman is also a member of the Painting and Sculpture Council of the San Antonio Museum of Art, and is currently active in numerous community and civic activities.

The Honorable James H. Duff of Pennsylvania is Executive Director of the Brandywine River Museum and Conservancy, and a former Director of the Museum of the Hudson Highlands. Mr. Duff is a past president of the Mid-Atlantic Associations of Museums and a regional Delegate to the Council of the American Association of Museums.

The Honorable Richard J. Herczog of California is a former Vice President and Chief Operating Officer of the Greater Los Angeles Zoo Association. Mr. Herczog is the former Treasurer and Director of the Douglas Welfare Foundation, and is active in numerous community and civic activities.

The Honorable Fay S. Howell of Georgia is Administrative Vice-President of the High Museum of Art in Atlanta, on whose executive committee she has served since 1976. Mrs. Howell is also a member of the Arts Alliance Board and serves on the Board of Trustees of the Fernbank Natural History Museum. Mrs. Howell is also active in numerous community and charitable organizations in Atlanta.

The Honorable Rosemary McMillan of Nevada has been a Member of the Board of Directors of Reno Nevada's Washos County Medical Center since 1968, where she has distinguished herself over the years as an organizer and fundraiser for numerous charitable art and cultural events. She is also an active Trustee of the Sierra Arts Foundation.

The Honorable Marilyn L. Mennello of Florida is founder and past president of the Council of 101 of the Orlando Museum of Art in Orlando, Florida. Mrs. Mennello is also a co-founder of the Participation Enriches Science, Music and Art Organizations. Mrs. Mennello is currently an active fundraiser for the Arts Community in Orlando and numerous other charitable organizations.

The Honorable Pauline Crowe Naftzger of California is a Life Member of the Museum of Natural History in Los Angeles, and a member of the Board of Directors of the Blue Ribbon Committee of the Music Center of Los Angeles. She is also a twenty-five year member of the Art's Docent Council and a member of the President's Circle of the Los Angeles County Museum of Art.

The Honorable Helmuth J. Naumer of New Mexico is a former President of the Museum of New Mexico Foundation and the San Antonio Museum Association. He is a past Executive Director of the Fort Worth Museum of Science and History and the Pacific Science Center Foundation. Mr. Naumer is currently the Officer of Cultural Affairs for the State of New Mexico.

The Honorable George S. Rosborough Jr. of Missouri is Chairman of the St. Louis Community Foundation. Mr. Rosborough is President Emeritus of the St. Louis Art Museum, and formally served as the Director of the Business Committee for the Arts. Mr. Rosborough is also a former board member of the Associated Council for the Arts, and a co-founder of the trustees committee of the American Association of Museums.

The Honorable James S. Rosebush of Washington D.C. is President of James Rosebush & Company, an international management consultant firm. He is a former Deputy Assistant to President Reagan and Chief of Staff to the First Lady. Previously Mr. Rosebush served as Corporate Contributions Manager for The Standard Oil Company of Ohio, as Vice President of the National Chamber Foundation, Citizen's Choice, Inc, & has been involved in philanthropy & the museum community for many years.

The Honorable Richard J. Schwartz of New York is a former Chairman, President and Chief Executive Officer of Jonathan Logan Inc. Mr. Schwartz is currently President of the Archives of American Art in New York City, Chairman of the Advisory Board of the Herbert F. Johnson Museum of Art, Cornell University in Ithaca, New York. He is a trustee of the Lincoln Center for the Performing Arts and the Chapin School in New York City, and the Buffalo Bill Historical Center in Cody, Wyoming.

The Honorable Beverly F. White of Florida has served on numerous art and historical boards including the Tallahassee Fine Arts Council. Mrs. White is a former Director of Florida's Division of Cultural Affairs, and former Chairman of Presidential Scholars.