Document Type


Date of Original Version



Biomedical and Pharmaceutical Sciences


Background: Extramammary Paget’s disease (EMPD), a rare skin malignancy with non-specific manifestations, is often misdiagnosed as eczema of scrotum or tinea cruris. Although the diagnosis of EMPD could be confirmed by biopsy, it can be delayed as patients are reluctant to receive invasive operations. Herein, we investigated the serum miRNA expressions of EMPD patients and compared to that of the eczema of scrotum or tinea cruris patients as well as health volunteers for potential diagnostic markers for EMPD.

Methods: Altogether 45 subjects including 16 patients diagnosed with EMPD, 12 patients diagnosed with eczema of scrotum or tinea cruris and 17 healthy volunteers were enrolled in this study. Serum from all of subjects were collected to identify miRNAs (by miRNA array global normalization, RT-PCR validation, and receiver operating characteristic curve analysis) that could be potential diagnostic markers for EMPD.

Results: The miRNA array analyses revealed that the expressions of 37 miRNAs from the EMPD patients were different (change ≥4-fold) from health volunteers. Among these miRNAs, the expression of miR-155 was significantly increased (p < 0.01) in the EMPD patients as compared with that of the health volunteers and the eczema of scrotum or the tinea cruris patients (no difference between these two control groups). In addition, receiver operating characteristic (ROC) curve analysis showed that diagnostic capacities (defined as the area under curve of ROC) of miR-155 are 0.85 (as compared with health volunteers group) and 0.81 (as compared with the eczema of scrotum or the tinea cruris patients group), respectively.

Conclusion: The serum miRNA expression of gene miR-155 in the EMPD patients was differentiated from that of other subjects warranting further validation of miR-155 as a diagnostic marker of EMPD.

Publication Title

BMC Cancer



Creative Commons License

Creative Commons License
This work is licensed under a Creative Commons Attribution 4.0 License.